Questions tagged [magic-items]
For questions about items imbued with magic in some way, usually beneficial but occasionally detrimental, such as a cloak which renders the wearer invisible or a hammer which returns to its wielder when thrown.
3,279 questions
-8
votes
3
answers
222
views
Can the Talking Doll be used as a Divination solution?
While this stuffed doll is within 5 feet of you, you can spend a short
rest telling it to say up to six phrases, none of which can be more
than six words long, and set a condition under which the
doll ...
9
votes
1
answer
257
views
Can property runes be temporarily suppressed by the wielder?
In general, can a property rune be temporarily suppressed or disabled by the wielder without use of magic?
For instance: if I have a sword with a flaming rune and want not to do fire damage for some ...
3
votes
1
answer
66
views
How does a Clay Sphere interact with a Fatal weapon?
The Clay Sphere Spellheart has an effect when used on a weapon that reads "Until the end of your next turn, Strikes with the affixed weapon have their damage dice increase by one step." If ...
4
votes
1
answer
63
views
How often can you activate temporary holy runes for Holy Healing?
The Judgement Thurible Spellheart allows you to add the Holy weapon property rune to an affixed weapon "until the end of your next turn" whenever you cast a spell from the Spellheart. The ...
6
votes
1
answer
65
views
Can you activate a Spellheart as part of a Spell-Woven Shot?
The Spellshot feat "Spell-Woven Shot" gives you a 3-action ability that says "You Cast a Spell that takes 1 or 2 actions to cast and requires a spell attack roll. The effects of the ...
5
votes
1
answer
92
views
Does Spellstrike Ammunition limit heightening?
Does the level of a piece of Spellstrike Ammunition limit how much a cantrip cast into it can be heightened? For example, if I have a Type 1 piece of ammunition, which has a limit of 1st level spells, ...
8
votes
2
answers
819
views
Can a creature take a short or long rest in an Iron Flask?
If a character traps the same creature back into the Iron Flask after it lost some hit points in a fight (or traps an already wounded creature), can that creature recover within the Iron Flask by ...
5
votes
1
answer
243
views
If I use an enspelled Item to cast an enspelled Spell that I already know from my class, does it count as a class spell if I cast it using the item?
This distinction becomes important if a class spell of mine comes with special benefits. Notably, Artificers with an infused shield or sword can cast artificer spells, even those that require somatic ...
10
votes
2
answers
410
views
Is there any way to imbue a sling bullet with spells?
So I thought of this Idea involving halfling softstones that would be infused with healing spells before thrown at my party, and since its nonlethal any damage done would be healed automatically, ...
12
votes
3
answers
1k
views
What are ways to spend hit dice to heal during combat?
Been thinking about how to optimize a Periapt of Wound Closure to do some crazy self healing. But to do so, I need to heal via Hit Die, which typically only happens via Short Rest. However I vaguely ...
3
votes
1
answer
124
views
Does the damage from Holy Weapon interact with a Crystal Blade's triggered healing ability?
The Crystal Blade from Fizban's Treasury of Dragons says (emphasis mine)
This magic sword’s blade is fashioned from a horn or spine from a crystal dragon. When you hit with an attack roll using this ...
10
votes
2
answers
1k
views
Does Smiting with a Crystal Blade give extra healing?
The Crystal Blade from Fizban's Treasury of Dragons says (emphasis mine)
This magic sword’s blade is fashioned from a horn or spine from a crystal dragon. When you hit with an attack roll using this ...
-6
votes
1
answer
128
views
Can a mimic appear as a Echo Knight's Echo?
The following are rules as written for a Mimic:
Shapechanger The mimic can use its action to polymorph into an object or back into its true, amorphous form. Its statistics are the same in each form. ...
18
votes
2
answers
2k
views
Do you need to hold the Lantern of Revealing for it to work?
Do you need to hold the Lantern of Revealing for it to work? Or can I just put it on the ground and it will still reveal invisible creatures?
My DM insisted that it need to be held to be effective but ...
6
votes
1
answer
495
views
Am I able to apply Metamagic to any spell cast into the Ioun Stone of Reserve?
I have been debating with my DM concerning me casting into the Ioun Stone of Reserve with Metamagic applied to the spell. I have not been able to locate anything in regard to applying them to the ...